Today, I ate out alone.

And it was awesome.

A bit awkward at the beginning because the only thing that concerned me was what the servers might be thinking of me and what the other people seated around me would be thinking. But, 20 seconds.

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.”

― Benjamin Mee, We Bought a Zoo

After the initial reluctance, everything got pretty chilled out. Because, nobody cares what you’re doing till you’re not making a mess or wreaking havoc upon their peace. As to how I got in this situation …

I was giving final exams for a certificate course – two of them – and the center was faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar off. I had to change the metro thrice - that far off.

So after dropping me, Dad went back home - because there was nothing else to do, and I had to spend the entire day there anyway - and I went and gave the exam which surprisingly got over in half the stipulated time. So, out I went, with a roaring stomach. I searched Zomato for anything interesting or for that matter, generic. The nearest Burger King was 7 stations away.

Without giving it another thought, I boarded the train. (Which I now realize is the best way to do things when you’re not street smart - don’t overthink - go with the gut.) After boarding, I thought of checking the reviews which were sadly focussed on how deserted the stretch was and the store is right next to a wine shop. So no go bro. I might be having a lucky day, but that would be stretching it too far.

So I got down 6 stations away - and panicked on the station. I had no idea where I was, where I wanted to go - only the idea that standing in the station after 7-8 trains had passed the platform would put me on the focus of the security officials - and I didn’t want to do that. Called up a friend - explained my panic - who told me to relax, and have fun, gotchu. I mean sometimes that’s all I want to be told :P

So I opened Google - instead of Zomato - and there, right under the metro station was Dominos. How very lucky (fingers crossed). The reviews on Google were stressing more on how small the outlet was and how they messed up the deliveries. Neither of them bothered me, so in I went.

It was a rather small outlet - just four tables. But I got to eat Tacos and a Butterscotch Mousse all by myself! And there weren’t enough people to judge me for it.Headphones on, notebook out and taco in my mouth. Just how I like it.

It was liberating. And that is when I decided, I will do this more often. Eating by myself and not caring how other people perceive me. I also realized, it’s better to go with intuition instead of making a minute-by-minute plan, which might ultimately fail.

I also think people should go out, and treat themselves - the way they want it - more often. Because, nobody around you will bother with what you’re doing. From a sad perspective, everyone is too busy to notice that you’re eating alone - and on the off chance that somebody does notice? They’ll probably not let you know.

And if they do tell you, invite them.
You just got yourself someone to eat with.

Nice save, Man-in-the-skies.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Stay, or just go away.

Sometimes (or most of the times, with me) you talk about anything and everything. It’s almost like I’m a notepad for you to write your feelings on, and then forget about it. ( Confession : I do that too, but with my diary. ) You tell me... Continue →