Catching Up

I’m now pursuing Economics from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi. A subject I’m yet to develop interest in and a place I really don’t want to stay in. Life has a funny way of handing out lemons and I have an equally funny way of making a lemonade out of them.

I tried to get out of here by trying Design; and almost succeeded. Missed both my top choices by a whisker. And yes, that does hurt. A lot

ee4de7c04f9c92b8a6e93fd21d703235.jpg

But just like the optimistic teenager I once was, I’m going to take this in my stride, and try and be better with what I have in hand, instead of moping on what I could have had.
(Which is ironically what you’re currently reading me doing…)
Oops.

Well anyway, let’s talk about something else. Let’s talk about what else I’ve lost in a year.

1. New friends at the college
I didn’t exactly lose them, I decided I didn’t want to spend any more time with them. It was a mix of I’m not good enough and I really don’t find any of their pranks funny or relaxing. So not moping about it, but yes, in the public eye I lost a significant chunk of my first semester.

2. My first crush
I guess I actually grew out of the circle of awe he kept me in. When I was younger, he was one person of the opposite gender I respected a lot. That respect intensified and the adolescent me decided to call that feeling love. I laugh now, thinking that I could ever have been in love with him. Neither he nor I was into each other in that sense. :3

3. My Interest as a Future Career
Now it is cemented. I’ll never ever be a computer scientist. Until faith intervenes in the form of a time machine. But as numerous science fiction movies have shown us, Time Travelling just leads to different timelines. So there will be one Shivani in some timeline who has Economics, and she will be bloody depressed.

Uh huh.
I guess that’s it. I don’t have anything more to mope about.

Thanks for reading, friend.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Caught Up, yet?

UPDATE I do enjoy Economics right now. After a lot of introspection and rethinking all the choices I made during the last year, I realize the fault was not in the subject, not in my friends, not in my choice of crushes, not in anything... Continue →